Swain Law Group is open for business. We are available for in-person, telephone and video consultations at any of our office locations. We’ve moved! Please note our new Norman office: 217 E. Main Street.

Don’t Let The Scales Of Justice Tip Against You

  1. Home
  2.  → 
  3. Marijuana Charges
  4.  → Medical marijuana in Oklahoma has specific requirements

Medical marijuana in Oklahoma has specific requirements

With the legalization of medical marijuana in Oklahoma, some citizens might be wondering what they can do to get their hands on some legally. There are many points that you need to know if you are ready to use marijuana to get relief from medical ailments.

First, you have to get a medical marijuana patient license that is issued through an online system. When you are approved based on your doctor’s recommendation, you will get a card in the mail that includes your photo, name, type of license, unique identification number, city and county of residence and an expiration date. You must have this on your person to prove that you are registered for medical marijuana.

Your license is valid for two years unless the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority revokes it. When you apply, you have to do so within 30 days of getting the recommendation from your doctor. As of November 2018, the cost of the application is $20 for Medicaid or Medicare recipients or $100 for others. You should receive the decision on your application within 14 days.

It is imperative that you always carry your card if you are going to have any type of marijuana on your person. Even if you are only the caregiver for another person, you will still need your card if you have the drug.

If you are caught with marijuana and don’t have a valid medical marijuana card, you can face criminal charges. These are serious matters and are treated as any other drug charge. Make sure that you learn about the options you have so you can determine your preferred course of action.