Across the nation, many states have adopted a more lenient approach to the use and possession of marijuana. Some states have even legalized the controlled use of cannabis. While Oklahoma has reduced the severity of marijuana charges, it is still illegal to possess this substance. As such, facing any kind of marijuana charges could have a deep and long lasting effect on your life.
The following sections describe how the state currently addresses the possession, sale and trafficking of marijuana.
- A first offense conviction for possessing marijuana is a misdemeanor, resulting in up to one year in jail or a $10,000 fine.
- Subsequent marijuana possession charges are a felony and could mean two to ten years in jail and a fine of up to $25,000.
- A conviction of possessing marijuana near a school or in the presence of a child can double or even triple the penalties discussed above.
- A first conviction for selling marijuana is a felony and punishable by two to ten years of jail time and/or a $5,000 fine.
- Subsequent convictions for selling the substance typically results in doubling the penalties.
- A drug trafficking conviction involving marijuana will result in many thousands of dollars in fines as well as other penalties.
As you can see, the stakes associated with marijuana charges in Oklahoma are still quite high. However, those who have been arrested for possession may still achieve a good outcome if they seek assistance from a legal professional with experience handling drug charges. Even if it is not possible to avoid a conviction altogether, your legal counsel may be able to have the charges against you reduced.
Source: FindLaw, “Oklahoma Marijuana Laws,” accessed Jan. 19, 2018